Code for Science and Society logo


As a Community Advised Fund, members from the broader data science community direct the fund’s strategy and funding priorities. CS&S is excited to test how such participatory grant-making models can help shift and redistribute power.

The day-to-day operations of the Fund are managed by the CS&S programs team which includes Madeline de FigueiredoMiliaku Nwabueze, and Dr. Angela Okune. The governance, operations, and strategy of the Fund are overseen by an Advisory Committee composed of members recruited from mid to senior levels with complementary expertise and experiences in community organizing, data and information sciences, and fundraising. Event Fund grant funding decisions rest with the Selection Committee. The Selection Committee is composed of open data science champions with proven track records as strong community organizers who promote diversity, inclusion, and accessibility. For each incoming cohort of grantees, a Selection Panel is formed with the most relevant 4-7 people from the broader pool of SC members. New Selection Committee members are recruited to the pool on an ongoing basis, as needed. SC members who serve on a selection panel receive an honorarium for their time.

To fill open positions on the committees, the Event Fund holds an open nomination period to invite new members to our committees.

Advisory Committee Members

  • Stefanie Butland, M.Sc., Openscapes
  • Robin Champieux, M.L.I.S., Director of Digital Scholarship and Research Engagement at Oregon Health and Science University (Committee Chair)
  • Chris Mentzel, M.Sc., Executive Director, Data Sciences, Stanford University Data Science Initiative
  • Dr. Malvika Sharan, Senior Researcher, The Alan Turing Institute, and Co-Director of Open Life Science
  • Dr. Raed Sharif, Senior Regional Manager, the SecDev Foundation

Cohort #4 Selection Panel

  • Gilbert Beyamba
  • Caxton Murira, Science for Africa Foundation
  • Mbithe Nzomo, University of Cape Town
  • Chisom Onyeuku, Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC)

Pool of Selection Committee Members

  • Dr. Laura Ación, MetaDocencia
  • Gilbert Beyamba, Pollicy
  • Dr. Reina Camacho Toro, LA-CoNGA Physics / CNRS
  • Dr. Stephen Klusza, Clayton State University
  • Caxton Murira, Science for Africa Foundation
  • Mbithe Nzomo, University of Cape Town
  • Chisom Onyeuku, Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC)
  • Kathleen Siminyu, Masakhane Project / Mozilla Fellow
  • Dr. Angelique Trusler, The Carpentries
  • Dr. Lilly Winfree, (committee chair)

Former Advisory Committee Members

  • Dr. Joshua Greenberg, Director of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation's Digital Information Technology Program
  • Dr. Kari L. Jordan, Executive Director of The Carpentries
  • Dr. Micaela Parker, Executive Director for the Academic Data Science Alliance
  • Dr. Tracy Teal, Open Source Program Manager, RStudio

Former Selection Committee Members

  • Stefanie Butland, rOpenSci
  • Serah Rono, Spotify
  • Dr. Malvika Sharan, Open Life Science
  • Dr. Hao Ye, University of Florida